Take the time.

I work a corporate job with FedEx. Those of you who are “FedExers” know you have to use your vacation time by May 31st. I didn’t because with this pandemic and working from home, vacation hasn’t been on my mind, so I had 40 hours that carried over. The only catch, the time had to be used within 90 days. Again, I forget which meant I had to take the last days of August.

Here’s the blessing, this coincided with my Grams getting sicker and I got the chance to spend the last two weeks of her earthly life with her. Y’all, I’m so glad I did. There were memories made with her, my mom, aunts, uncles, sisters and cousins that wouldn’t have happened otherwise. We got to hear Grams tell stories, there were times we’d laugh all night and others were emotional. I got to hear her say how proud she was of me, how much she loved me and I even have some videos to hear her voice.

Why am I sharing this? Truth is, in a way it’s therapeutic because I find myself wanting to scream from the pain of losing her. Understand, I’m not overly sad, but I do miss her. I don’t want you to feel sorry or think of me with pity, Grams lived to be 90 and I rejoice for that. I’m sharing this, not because I’m in a bad head space or can’t deal with my grief, but as a reminder for you to take the time.

Some of you have been contemplating whether you should take a day off, go on that vacation, spend time with family or friends, etc. Take the time. Even if you don’t leave home or have anything planned, take the time. While you’re taking the time; take pictures, take videos, take a walk, take a break … just don’t take a moment for granted.

“How do you know what your life will be like tomorrow? Your life is like the morning fog—it’s here a little while, then it’s gone.” – James 4:14

1 thought on “Take the time.

  1. Missy

    Amen take the time, absolutely!!!
    I read this devotion on my prayer call and it was the right reading for my prayer partner who will be retiring shortly.
    It was good for me as well because before I take time off I have so many thoughts on whether its the right time. Take the time, yes indeed.
    Good bless

    Reply

Leave a comment