RSS

Daily Devotional – 11/13/13 “Victory over defeat”

13 Nov

I heard this song on the radio that said, “I’ve seen too many victories to let defeat have the last word,” and although I wrote this down to write on, weeks ago; it wasn’t time. Then I got to work this morning and as I was searching through my purse for my driver’s license and pulling out papers for all the things I have to do (outside my job), the average person would feel defeated yet I am determined. Why? Well because I’ve seen too many victories to let defeat, have the last word. Yea, when I open my eyes and see another day, I count it victory. When I can see and hear my Grams, I count it a victory. When I can call my momma, I count it a victory. When I can still go lie in the bed with my sister, I count it a victory. When I find my other 2 sisters and my 3 brothers alive and well, I count it a victory. When I realize I still have all 7 of my uncles and my 2 aunts, I count it a victory. My husband and children are alive and well, I count it a victory. I still have a job, a place to call home, a car to drive, a few dollars in the bank, folks I call friends, a gift that is still making room for me and encouragers praying for me; I count it a victory. When I can feel and see God’s favor over my life, I count it victory. When I realize I could look like the things I go through and I don’t, I count it victory. Oh, I know I’m making this thang personal today but let me tip around your front yard for a minute.

If you woke up this morning in your right mind, still knowing where you are, clothes to put on even if they are ones you’ve worn before, you had a few morsels of bread to eat, you’re warm and you’re more blessed than someone else because you’re reading this on some sort of electronic device; you should count it a victory. Even though you have a few pains in your body, maybe going through chemo or dialysis and taking more pills than you like; you’re yet alive to feel God’s anointing one more day; you should count it a victory. You survived that dope you smoked or those drinks you had last night so you should count it a victory. You’ve been through hell more times than you care to remember, hurt more than you’d like, left by someone you thought never would yet you survived, you should count it a victory. You survived the storm you thought would never end, you should count it a victory. You got that car after you’ve been turned down 2 times before, your apartment was approved in your name and your promotion was set up just for you; you should count it a victory. You still have all the things you had on yesterday even if you weren’t thankful for them; you should count it a victory. Baby, I can go on but why don’t you take over and start being thankful for the victories you’ve won which means you haven’t been defeated! Sing with me, “I’ve seen too many victories to let defeat have the last word!”

“For everyone who has been born of God overcomes the world. And this is the victory that has overcome the world—our faith.” 1 John 5:4

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 13, 2013 in Daily Devotional

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,057 other followers

